The Association has now matured into a highly respected National Association with Chapters launched in each State and Territory, hosting of high calibre events and links developing with lawyers overseas.

HAL was launched in the Supreme Court Victoria Library on 11 April 2014 by the Chief Justice of South Australia and National Patron of HAL, Chief Justice Kourakis.

Four current HAL Chapter patrons attend the national launch in 2014 – the Hon Chris Kourakis (South Australia and National Patron), the Hon Emilios Kyrou (Victorian Patron), the Hon Anthe Philippides (Queensland Patron), and the Hon Melissa Perry (New South Wales Patron).

On 31 October 2014 the Governor of South Australia, His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AO, launched HAL in South Australia in Old Parliament House.

On 30 January 2015 Chief Justice Robert French AC launched HAL in Queensland in the Supreme Court of that State.

On 9 October 2015 the Northern Territory Chapter of HAL was launched by Chief Justice Riley.

The Tasmanian chapter of HAL was launched on 27 November by Chief Justice Blow OAM, the Tasmanian Patron of HAL.

On 12 February 2016 the Western Australian Chapter of HAL was launched by Chief Justice Wayne Martin AC, the patron of the Chapter.

The launch of HAL in the Australian Capital Territory was held on 15 April 2016. Chief Justice of the ACT, Helen Murrell, is Patron of the ACT Chapter.

On 11 November 2016 the NSW Chapter of HAL was launched by Chief Justice Tom Bathurst AC. The Patron of the NSW Chapter is The Honourable Justice Melissa Perry, Justice of the Federal Court of Australia.


There are no comments yet.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.